11.3.07

5+ miles on the mill in new shoes :~)

This morning I dropped my parents at the airport for a week-long trip to Northland and headed to the BIG Peach on Peachtree Road. I got there a bit early, so I stopped off at Starbucks for some java juice and a bagel before the BIG Peach opened at 8:00 a.m. I was there to hear Dr. Perry Julien of the Atlanta Foot and Ankle Center on Roswell Road lecture on [what else] foot related issues. He was very entertaining and informative and gave us each a copy of his book, “Sure Footing.” I’ve been having trouble with Plantar Fasciitis for about a year and a half, ever since I switched from Nike to Fila. I also, at that same time, dramatically increased my running [training for the ING marathon] so I can’t for sure say the brand switch was to blame.

I had planed to go for a group run at 9:00 [I love running in the city] but the good doctor, and he was good, lectured until about 9:15, then took questions. By that time, the 9 a.m. group had already left. Interestingly enough, there was a group that left at 7:30 and 8:00 as well, and there could have been a group that left before that, I’m not sure. A great concept — I think they leave from the BIG Peach every 30 minutes or so. So, if you want a group to run with and like running in the city, that may be a good option for you.

So, after the lecture I went through the very involved procedure to be fitted for a new pair of running shoes. I found out that I really, really run weird! Part of the procedure is that they film your feet running on a treadmill. You can see it in real time on a large monitor on the wall and then, when you are done, they slow it down to a frame by frame progression so you can really see what’s going on with your movement. I watched about 4 people do this before it was my turn. Then when they played back the frame by frame of my running I was SHOCKED! There was no overpronation like I had imagined. I had for some time though that was the cause of my Plantar Fasciitis troubles. However, I actually pronate quite normally. BUT, I run really weird! Instead of one foot going straight forward and then the other, my feet over lap each other– one foot straight in front of the other and so on… It’s a wonder I don’t trip myself up! If I thought about it too much, I probably would! I asked if I should work on changing this and trying to run like a normal person but they said no, it’s just the way you run and if you’re comfortable running like that just keep doing it. It would take so much effort and concentration to re-learn running that it would take all of the enjoyment out of it. So, I guess I’ll just keep on doing what I’m doing. Although, I have to wonder if the way I run doesn’t play into the trouble I’m having with my hip. It seems to me that it would take much more effort and put more pressure on the hips to run like I do than like most people do. I wish I had asked for a video clip of it — it’s really quite amusing!

Anywho… I ended up purchasing a pair of Mizunos.

mizuno-m-rider10-08kn70263-tec-ss07.jpg

This is not the exact color, but this is what they look like. I tried on several pairs and they basically all felt the same. These are comfortable and Mizuno is a good name I can trust so I went with them. I also purchased a pair of orthotics but I think I’m going to take them back. They were quite expensive and when I got home and compared them to the orthotics I already had [which they tell me should last through about 3 pairs of shoes] they feel just as stable.

I got a free “training for the ING GA Marathon” shirt because I bought Mizuno and they are the official shoe of the ING and I saved 10% on everything [as always at the BIG Peach] because I am an Atlanta Track Club member — nice!

Oh yeah, I also purchase a Fuel Belt pouch that will fit on my Fuel Belt and hopefully be big enough for the iPhone.

On yesterday I went back to the chiropractor for the second time this week. And I have good news: starting in December he’s going to be in this area 1 day a week, so I won’t have to travel so far to see him. I have been in more pain this week with my hip and back than ever before. He said he thought it was because the adjustment on Monday didn’t stick. After the adjustment yesterday I feel much better. He suggested I start taking Osteo Bi-Flex– he has taken it for about 5 years now for his bad knees. I did some research on it on the Internet and it sounds safe, and there are several body builders and other athletes that endorse it so I’ll be taking that at least for the next 2 months to see if it helps with the unruly hip.

osteobiflex_advanced_triple.jpg

0 Responses to “11.3.07”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

November 2007
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Patsy Burnette's Facebook profile
Help end world hunger

Psalm 19:1-3

"The heavens declare the glory of God; and the firmament sheweth his handywork...There is no speech nor language, where their voice is not heard."

Blog Stats

  • 96,470 hits

