11.22.07

dsc_0146.jpg

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!

I have prayed for rain for months now. I wasn’t too specific as to when I wanted this rain, so I can’t really complain much.

The picture is me just after I crossed the finish line of the Thanksgiving Day 1/2 Marathon in Atlanta. My time was 2:14:47 [unofficially]. I don’t think the “official” chip time will be much different since I was right up front at the start and it only took me about 10-15 seconds to cross the start line.

It was sprinkling when the race started and miles 2 and 3 saw a heavy downpour. I just praised the Lord for the much needed rain although I knew my feet would pay the price. Sure enough, my shoes were soaked and squished the rest of the race providing me with a nice size BLOOD blister on the toe next to my BIG toe 😦 OUCH!

It rained off and on throughout the 13.1 miles but the temp was EXCELLENT! Best temp I’ve ever raced in. I never got cold or hot — it was PERFECT!!!

My time was still not what I hoped for, I was hoping for something under 2 hours, but just couldn’t do it.

My running partner [who is out of town] called me about 1/2 mile in and believe it or not, I answered my cell phone — YES, I run with my cell phone. Weird I know, but a lot of people do and it helps find your friends and family at the finish line. Anywho, she called and wished me a good run. That was nice 🙂

The new Fuel Belt was great! Large enough that it sat on my hips, not around my waist– very comfortable and very nice. The bottles each hold an ounce more than the old bottles and the lids are better– they don’t leak. The pull tabs to release the bottles from the belt are bigger and easier to grab. And the pouch is small but removable so that a larger one can be added if needed. I’m very pleased with it.

The Garmin lost the satellite about mile 12, [not nice!] so I didn’t get a complete reading on the race.

NOTE: When I synced the Garmin I notice something that I hadn’t noticed before. I’ve had it a year now and only use if for races and long runs and I didn’t realize this but it keeps a “running” total [that’s was a play on words — OK to laugh] anywho… it keeps a total of all the miles I’ve run. OVER 300! And that’s just races and long runs in 1 year. + it keeps a total of the calories burned! Over 51 thousand!

And on that note… it’s off to eat some turkey and Gobble ’til we Wobble.

1 Response to “11.22.07”



Leave a Reply

November 2007
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Patsy Burnette's Facebook profile
Help end world hunger

Psalm 19:1-3

"The heavens declare the glory of God; and the firmament sheweth his handywork...There is no speech nor language, where their voice is not heard."

Blog Stats

  • 96,465 hits

