4.8.08

Rumor has it that Starbucks [in trying to get back to its “roots”] may be returning to its old logo– the original logo. I’m not even going to post a pic of that here, you can Google it if you want to see.

It’s not a very “family friendly” or even attractive logo for that matter. it’s degrading to women I would propose and I hope that it’s just a rumor and nothing more.

I have long thought about what I would do should this ever happen. Will I forgo Starbucks all together? Will I carry a roll of black electrical tape with me and cover up the offensive parts of the logo on my cup? IDK Right now I’m thinking maybe I’ll use my stainless Starbucks mugs — they will make your drink in these if you wish and I have quite a collection of them. Maybe I’ll do that.

Maybe it won’t come to this. Maybe if it does there will be enough uprising from the masses to make them revert back to the logo they’ve been using for years.

Anyway, it’s not all about the logo, that’s NOT why people flock to Starbucks. It’s about the coffee, the freshness, the smooth roast and the ambiance of the place– it’s NOT at all about the logo! However, on the other hand, if Starbucks has spent millions to revert back to the old logo it’s highly unlikely that they are going to reverse this any time soon. Can the masses make that much noise? Can we be heard? Are there that many people who even care any more?

We shall see if it comes to pass… Off to Starbucks…

Back from Starbucks and our afternoon galavant to Williams Gengakki and Whole Foods. The whole Starbucks thing was NOTHING! ABSOLUTELY NOTHING! We walked in at 12 noon on the dot and NOTHING… Even the employees said it was NOTHING! What a marketing ploy! I was SO disappointed! I did get a free small coffee– a taste of their new Pike Place blend. And as I suspected, the original logo was everywhere. Oh, there’s some difference, a slight difference in some key areas that may make the logo acceptable by the general public but I still don’t like it. It was not only on their cups, it was on their uniforms as well. So, that’s some serious cash they dumped into this one. I don’t think it’s going to go away any time soon. It will be interesting to see if there are any repercussions.

0 Responses to “4.8.08”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

April 2008
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Patsy Burnette's Facebook profile
Help end world hunger

Psalm 19:1-3

"The heavens declare the glory of God; and the firmament sheweth his handywork...There is no speech nor language, where their voice is not heard."

Blog Stats

  • 95,699 hits

