5.25.08

This is our third day of sitting at the bedside of my Aunt Bridget at Northside-Forsyth Hospital. My Uncle Bobby is here; they have been live-partners for 44+ years. Next January would be 45. They are both Christians, so they know where they are going after they leave this earth- “…absent of the body, present with the Lord…” so that is a GREAT comfort! Other family members are here too, her sister and brother — my mom being the sister, her two daughters and various other family members including her brother’s family and some of my family members– my bff and daughters and my running partner’s CPA. They called the family in on Friday saying she probably had 48 hours. Now they say 24 possibly. Her breathing is labored approximately 24 breaths per-minute, just as it’s been for the past couple of days.

Bridget has been in constant pain for the past 29 years with different medical conditions including Fibromyalgia and complications from some difficult surgeries. She’s very special to me for many reasons, one being that she took such good care of me when I was a young mother with three small children and my own parents lived out of state. I had no one to help me and many-a-time Bridget came to the rescue. I remember one time in particular when she went with me to take those three children to the pediatrician. My oldest, who was about six at the time and terrified of injections, had to have one on that day. Bridget held her in her lap while the nurse administered the injection and she KICKED Bridget 😮 I don’t think she did it on purpose, but I felt SO bad!

At this point it’s just a bedside vigil. As a family, we have been here before– with my grandmother in ’94, my grandfather years prior to that, and most recently with my bff’s parents. I don’t know what most families do in these cases but for us, we pretty much come together and campout and wait for the loved one’s passing. It’s a difficult time, but at the same time, it’s a sweet time of sharing memories and supporting one another. I am SO thankful for family; so thankful for MY family!

We are keeping the Starbucks across the street in business…

1 Response to “5.25.08”


  1. 1 Laura May 27, 2008 at 2:25 am

    Having y’all around was a HUGE comfort and I would have not wanted it any other way. Thank you.


Leave a Reply

May 2008
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Patsy Burnette's Facebook profile
Help end world hunger

Psalm 19:1-3

"The heavens declare the glory of God; and the firmament sheweth his handywork...There is no speech nor language, where their voice is not heard."

Blog Stats

  • 97,374 hits

