7.1.08

The first day of July, 2008. July is a special month. It’s like the very middle of summer, the very middle of summer fun, parties, pools, sun, the beach, red, white and blue, celebrations, fireworks, cookouts, family get-togethers, reunions, vacations, independence and so much more.

The appointment yesterday with the sports medicine podiatrist went much better than expected. If you had asked me 2 weeks ago how my progress was going with my foot I probably would have told you that it was worse than when I first went to see him a month ago [at the time]. I was frustrated because I had done everything he’d told me to do and with seemingly no positive results. However, in the last week, a substantial turnaround has been made and I think I am seriously on the road to recovery.

Yesterday when I went to see him, he poked around on the bottom of my foot and it didn’t hurt like it did 6 weeks ago– which almost sent me through the roof. And he said he didn’t feel the resistence on the bottom of my foot like he did 6 weeks ago. So, I didn’t need the cortisone injection which was a HUGE relief to me. I was SO concerned about that!

He told me yesterday to ween myself off the boot but to keep it around and when my calf feels tight, like after a race or long run, wear it that night. Stretching is crucial he said. Continue to stretch daily. Icing is optional, it’s probably something I will do just after races and long runs when I feel it’s necessary.

I go back to see him in 2 months. Last night I slept for the first time in 6 weeks w/o that retched boot. I really shouldn’t call it retched though, I think it had a lot to do with my recovery.

I still find it difficult to believe that I can walk around pain-free after 2 years of pretty much constant foot pain. I still think it’s going to hurt when I get up to walk and am surprised when it doesn’t. Funny…

0 Responses to “7.1.08”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Patsy Burnette's Facebook profile
Help end world hunger

Psalm 19:1-3

"The heavens declare the glory of God; and the firmament sheweth his handywork...There is no speech nor language, where their voice is not heard."

Blog Stats

  • 95,723 hits

