7.21.08

The plane ride down yesterday was like being on a bus to summer camp! A LOT of kids, mostly boys I think, and they were VERY LOUD! It was kind of humorous at times though.

We took off on the new 5th runway– the one that goes over 285. That’s quite a LONG taxi from the terminal and on the ride more than one person commented that maybe the pilots were going to drive the plane to Daytona instead of flying it there. he he he… As we approached the 5th runway, I reminisced about the 5K we ran on it just before it opened.

Shortly after we departed the terminal, a little boy, about 6 years old, a few rows behind us, started shouting, “I gotta go, I gotta go, I gotta go…” Of course they’re not going to let you out of your seat while we’re taxing and the “Fasten Seat Belt” sign is not going to go off for 10 minutes or so after take off, until we’re well on our way and leveled off. So, for the next 15-20 minutes [remember, I said the taxi was long] this little boy would break the silence, every 3-5 minutes or so, with the same, “Mom, I gotta go, I gotta go, I gotta go BAD!…” I felt so sorry for him [and his mom] and wondered if he’d make it. I guess he did. As soon as the Fasten Seat Belt sign went off, he and his mom rushed to the front of the plane 😮

Another little boy, again a few rows behind us, this one sounded to be about 8 or 9 years old SHOUTED REALLY LOUD, just as we got off the ground, “WE’RE GOING DOWN!” he he he… Then I heard his father in a quiet voice say, “Son, we don’t say things like that on air planes. There may be some people on here that are afraid of flying.” I immediately thought of my friend Joy.

As soon as the OK was given for electronic devices I turned on my iPod and pluged in my earbuds. The rest of the flight was wonderfully uneventful 🙂

When we landed in Daytona, some 45 minutes later, to save time, my bff headed to the rent-a-car counter and I to baggage claim. BAD NEWS: MY luggage didn’t make the flight 😦 However, they were able to quickly track it down. Seems it was still in ATL, but would be on the next flight. WHEW!

We got the car and headed to the farmer’s market [part of the flea market] for some fresh produce for the week. It was disappointing, nothing like I remember it being in the spring, and we didn’t buy anything except some kettle corn.

A swing back by the airport to retrieve my delayed luggage and we were on our way to the resort. Arriving early, our room was not quite ready so we sat and watched the ocean for an hour or so– tough job!

Dinner last night was at High Tides. Then a stop by Publix to pick up groceries for the week including a lot of fresh fruit and a couple of pounds of fresh, local shrimp, which was dinner tonight 🙂

Tomorrow night dinner will be at Bone Fish Grill.

Last night we walked 2 miles on the beach and this morning was my usual 3 mile run to Starbucks at the pier, and 3 miles back– after a water and low fat multi-berry muffin. The crab cakes at High Tides last night were a bit rich, and I really didn’t feel like a latte this morning, Maybe tomorrow morning…

We spent the entire day on the beach under a rented umbrella with a couple of rented lounge chairs. We will probably do the same tomorrow, Wednesday and Thursday. I was able to get some work done, the resort’s WIFI reaches even to the beach- NICE!

Another 2 mile walk tonight.

I will use sunscreen tomorrow. I didn’t today, and am beginning to regreat it. I’m not sure how one can get sunburned laying under an umbrella all day, but take my word– YOU CAN! and very badly 😦 Not surprizing though… I seem to do it every time. You’d think I’d learn. Hopefully, it won’t make my run in the a.m. uncomfortable.

BTW, I brought the boot, wore it last night and probably will every night since I do so much beach walking and running. I’ve been icing and stretching too. Hopefully this is preventative.

0 Responses to “7.21.08”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Patsy Burnette's Facebook profile
Help end world hunger

Psalm 19:1-3

"The heavens declare the glory of God; and the firmament sheweth his handywork...There is no speech nor language, where their voice is not heard."

Blog Stats

  • 95,672 hits

