7.23.08

Another day on the beach yesterday. The rain chased us in early about 2:30 p.m. or so. I played hide and seek from the sun under the umbrella all day. I took no chances and wore a pair of black running capris a t-shirt and even a long-sleeved jacket. The breeze was nice so I didn’t get too hot.

I didn’t sleep too well the night before so I slept some on the beach- I would have slept on the beach even if I had slept well, probably 😮

Why I didn’t sleep well? Well… here’s the story. It’s weird and long. But here goes…

About 1:00 a.m. my phone rings. I’m asleep. When I look at the phone and see it’s an unrecognized number I don’t answer. Then I think it could be something important so I call the number back. It’s the girl I shipped the iPhone to. She’s in California and didn’t know where she was calling so she had no idea it was 1:00 in the morning where she was calling. She’s also Asian and it’s very difficult for me to understand her or her husband. + I’m half asleep. Basically she’s saying she wants to know why I sent her this iPhone. She says she didn’t order an iPhone, doesn’t want an iPhone and didn’t pay for it. I assured her it was paid for and her name and address were on the shipping info. She says she didn’t pay for it and wants to know who did. I tell her to call back at 9:00 a.m. her time the next morning and I’ll check on it. Well… needless to say I didn’t sleep too well after that!

All kinds of scenarios raced through my head during the night. Did I really receive payment for the phone? I saw that eBay said I did, but I didn’t actually check PayPal to see if the $$$ was in there. Could I have looked at another auction and shipped it to the wrong person? If so, will I ever get it back? Or, am I just out $800.00? [400.00 the value of the phone + 400.00 to refund to the buyer] Could this be a case of identity theft? On and on and on my mind raced as my brain tried to figure this thing out and I could not sleep…

The next morning I get up and go to PayPal. Yep, the money is in there– that’s good! Then I go to eBay and look up the name and address of the person I shipped to. Immediately I realize that the name and address that is listed on the invoice now are not the same name and address I recall shipping to. But nowhere do I have the name and address of who I shipped it to written down– not here, and not at home. I know though that it was shipped to LA, California and the address is now listed as Glennville I think it was. And the name I shipped to was Tereza something and now it’s Kristi or something like that. I’m very confused! The only possible explanation I can think of is that the last time this person bought something on eBay they had it shipped to a different person. We’ve done that before- buy something and have it shipped to BIG Tom at college.

Well… my suspicions were right! The person who actually made payment for the iPhone is a friend of the Asian girl and the last time she made an eBay purchase she had it shipped to her name and address in LA. About 10:00 a.m. our time the Kristy person who bought the iPhone called and explained it all. WHEW!!!

Lessons learned:

  1. I will always check PayPal to be sure the $$$ is in there before shipping, not just take eBay’s word for it.
  2. I will always confirm the shipping name and address with the winning bidder.
  3. I will always write down the shipping name and address for my records.

Another weird thing about all this. The person whose address the phone was shipped to was only able to call me because when she turned on the phone it said MY phone number. I wiped the phone clean of all info before I shipped it and I’m not sure how my phone number is still showing up there. I still am concerned about this and hope it doesn’t cause me any problems when the person who bought the phone goes to activate it. I shipped it with the SIM card, maybe I shouldn’t have. IDK. I’m hoping that the phone is really wiped clean and hopefully no other info is still in there :[

On to better things…

Dinner last night at Bonefish Grill was out of this world! Wolf Fish Almondine Topped with Lump Crab and Shrimp The sweetness of crab and shrimp lend a sumptuousness to this classic dish. [That’s from their website.] I think it quite possibly might have been the best meal out I’ve ever had. Oh, the Deep Dish Keylime Pie and coffee were excellent as well 🙂 I’d eat it again tonight, but tonight is my bff’s turn to choose our dinner destination so who knows where we’ll end up. Possibly back at High Tides? IDK

Today we will spend another day on the beach. I think I may take my laptop and blog a bit. We’ll see… I’ve already blogged quite a bit this morning. It’s pretty cloudy out right now and there are storms to the south. It would be fine with me if it stays that way.

0 Responses to “7.23.08”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Patsy Burnette's Facebook profile
Help end world hunger

Psalm 19:1-3

"The heavens declare the glory of God; and the firmament sheweth his handywork...There is no speech nor language, where their voice is not heard."

Blog Stats

  • 97,556 hits

