8.23.08

So, today I spent more time at Starbucks than I’ve ever spent at one time, at one Starbucks, ever in my life!– 8 hours. However, it certainly didn’t seem like 8 hours ๐Ÿ™‚

I opened this morning, but on Saturdays the store doesn’t open quite as early, so I didn’t have to be there until 5:15 a.m., as opposed to 4:45 a.m. on the weekdays- that’ll be Monday morning ๐Ÿ˜ฎ I didn’t know this, but they have a “10 minute policy”. They will serve customers 10 minutes before they open or 10 minutes after they close.

Employees don’t usually show up until the very moment they have to be there. But you know me… I’m always early everywhere I go pretty much. So far, on the mornings I’ve opened, I’ve been the first one there ๐Ÿ˜ฎ The registers will only let you clock in up to 5 minutes before or 5 minutes after your scheduled time. And when you go on your 30 minute lunch break, you have to clock out, but the registers won’t let you clock back in until it is EXACTLY 30 minutes after you clocked out.

I made like the biggest mess you could imagine this morning while grinding the coffee beans. It’s sort of like grinding coffee beans at the grocery store [if you’ve ever seen that] but it’s a 5 pound bag of coffee. I thought the empty bag was under the shoot where the grounds come out but it wasn’t exactly where it needed to be. By the time I figured that out I probably had like this huge ant hill size of coffee grounds on the counter ๐Ÿ˜ฎ They all said, “Don’t worry, we’ve all done that at one time or another.” Everyone was quite patient with me today and very understanding all day long. I guess they’ve all been there.

I wore a headset for the first time. I HEARD VOICES IN MY HEAD! But my bff says that’s nothing new for me. I didn’t talk in the headset or take any drive thru orders– I just listened.

I worked mostly on the espresso bar. That’s my favorite place to work but it’s tough! I think I will enjoy it more someday when I feel more comfortable and know what in the world I’m doing.

Burger King may have been the one to coin the phrase “Have it Your Way” but Starbucks is seriously letting people have it their way, and I haven’t even gotten to the cold drink side like Frappachinos, iced drinks and the new Vivannos.

Just on the espresso side there are probably more than a dozen syrups to choose from, some being sugar free, some regular. Then there is the white chocolate mocha, mocha and the Chai. There are the milk choices: fat free, 2%, whole, soy, organic, half and half [Breve]. The sweeteners: raw sugar, sugar, Sweet-n-Low, Equal, Splenda. At any given time there are at least 3 brewed coffees to choose from. Most any of these espresso based drinks can me made hot or cold. SO, between the syrups, milks, sweeteners, hot, cold, etc., etc., etc. there is probably an incalculable number of combinations that can be had. And though I made a lot of Lattes and Cappuccinos, there were just as many ODD combinations that I made only once and probably only get made once in a blue moon– like the lady who wanted a fat free latte with whipping cream… Now what’s the point of that?!? Oh yeah, and I totally left out the sizes: Short, Tall, Grande, Venti, and the fact that Short and Tall get 1 shot of espresso while Grande and Venti both receive 2 shots– unless of course the customer requests less or more, which happens quite often. And you have to remember how many pumps of syrups said drinks require– sometimes that too varies ๐Ÿ™‚

At any given time there could be 5 or more marked cups lined up waiting for drinks to be made.

UNBELIEVABLE!

Everyone was very, very patient with me, and encouraging too. They just kept saying, ‘You’re doing great.”, but I felt LOST! I’ll be glad when I can do it without thinking and carry on a conversation with the customer at the same time ๐Ÿ™‚

0 Responses to “8.23.08”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Patsy Burnette's Facebook profile
Help end world hunger

Psalm 19:1-3

"The heavens declare the glory of God; and the firmament sheweth his handywork...There is no speech nor language, where their voice is not heard."

Blog Stats

  • 96,119 hits

