9.2.08

Yesterday I ran the U.S. 10K Classic with my friend Anne– she was a GREAT encouragement. We finished in 1:09:10, not a really good time but considering how little I’ve run as of late it was fantastic. I’m a bit sore today but stretching should take care of that. Oh yeah, this was Anne’s 3rd 10K for the weekend! She’s a CRAZY runner! The U.S. 10K Classic is supposedly the toughest 10K in the U.S. Cobb Parkway is like a roller coaster with hill after hill after hill– and BIG ones too!

I hit my Starbucks on the way to the race and picked up a pound of coffee for Anne and a coffee for me. The race was GREAT! It felt so good to get out with my comrades on the open road! I met with the Christian Runners group pre-race and had prayer. That was nice. I also got to meet several of them and some of Anne’s friends. I even got to be part of their group picture πŸ™‚

After the race we got our shirts, grabbed a couple of petite bagels, a green tea and hopped on a bus for the ride back to Cumberland. Cumberland has really spruced up– major reno! They have some really nice restaurants there now– P.F. Changs, Cheesecake Factory and more. We need to go soon!

After getting back to the car I hit the closest Starbucks just at the top of the first hill on Cobb Parkway. It was a nice place for a potty break before the ride home AND of course… some “refreshment”! A Caramel Macchiato and a Berry Stella πŸ™‚ I noticed they didn’t ask for my name, but got it off the card I used for payment and wrote it on my cup– good idea!

After getting home and cleaned up we headed for my running partner’s home for a cookout with hamburgers, [veggie burgers for some of us :)], potato salad, baked beans and all the fixings. Dessert was grandma’s famous caramel cake and homemade ice cream. Ahhh… I just can’t eat as much as I used to. In the afternoon we all just sort of crashed. I think we were all really tired for one reason or another. We crashed and watch FOX News and the Weather Channel and what all was going on with the RNC and Gustov.

Now, I’m watching the Weather Channel and what is going to become of Hanna. Looks like she could effect our weather greatly later in the week and this weekend.

Today Sari Beri and I have dentist appointments in the afternoon. I surely DO NOT like going to the dentist. I doubt anyone LIKES going to the dentist. If anyone does, they have some serious issues!

Tonight I work at Starbucks from 7-11 helping with the setup for the Fall promotion– I’m excited about that! However, I’m going to miss the People’s game and I’m kind of bummed about that :/

Tomorrow morning Sari Beri and I are doing our weekly breakfast at Starbucks– looking forward to that! The new “Morning Source” health breakfast items will be out. I’ve already tried some of them and HIGHLY recommend them– they are GREAT, especially the Apple Brad Muffin– my personal favorite!

0 Responses to “9.2.08”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Patsy Burnette's Facebook profile
Help end world hunger

Psalm 19:1-3

"The heavens declare the glory of God; and the firmament sheweth his handywork...There is no speech nor language, where their voice is not heard."

Blog Stats

  • 95,723 hits

