9.4.08

The Christian Runners group just prior to the U.S. 10K Classic on Monday morning.

Check this out: http://www.interstatebatteries.com/godslove Saw this ad on TV [FOX News I think it was] today.

Their website says: “Thank you for visiting and finding out more about the TV ad featuring “God’s Love.”Here you can play the ad again and see more information from Interstate Batteries Chairman Norm Miller about why we felt it was important to produce this message. We realize it is a little unusual for a company to be spreading news about God’s Love. We want to honor God in how we manage our business and serve our community everyday.”

WoW! Here’s the ad:

The setup Tuesday night at Starbucks was a lot of fun! All of the new fall stuff came in– mugs and gifts, Anniversary Blend coffee, etc., etc., etc., There were menu boards to change out, both in the cafe and drive thru. There were lots and lots of display things to put together. It was GREAT! I’ll never miss a setup if i can help it. It’s sort of like a party. One of the guys who also bakes specialty cakes on the side made this scrumptious Pumpkin Spice cake– TOTALLY ORGANIC! We were out of there by 10:00 p.m.

Now that I am more than just a Starbucks “customer” I see things a bit different when it comes to the pastry case. As a customer I rarely ever felt compelled to purchase items from the pastry case because those items didn’t strike me as being fresh. Now that I am an employee I see things differently. It’s unusual to get on the “inside” and see things looking better than you did on the outside. I think especially in food service the opposite is normally true. However, those pastries are indeed fresh! They are delivered fresh every night for the next day. And furthermore, I am totally, totally excited about the changes Starbucks is making to their pastry case line up. Healthy is replacing unhealthy.

The new breakfast menu debuted Wednesday morning to what seemed to be rave reviews! I’m so excited about these changes and the fact that they are taking place just as I am coming on board– amazing timing! The changes including Perfect Oatmeal, a Chewy Fruit & Nut Bar, Multigrain Roll, and Apple Bran Muffin join the Berry Stella that debuted earlier in the summer. These are the items you will find at my store. There are other offerings as well, but we are not currently carrying them.

I first tried the Berry Stella in Daytona Beach this summer– just before we left for the airport to return home we hit a Starbucks and there sat a Berry Stella, the first time I’d seen one. It’s star shaped which kind of caught my attention but what really caught my attention were all the berries baked inside and mainly on top of it. It’s sort of like a big, thick oatmeal cookie with blueberries and raspberries, I think it is, and it is YUMMY!

The Apple Bran Muffin is just as yummy! It’s very, very moist and chocked full of fruit– even CHERRIES! I don’t even like cherries, but I like the Apple Bran Muffin.

Yesterday I tried the multigrain roll which kind of looks like a small, healthy baguette. It comes with Almond Butter and Strawberry Preserves. At first when I heard “Almond Butter” I was thinking butter with almond flavor. No, this is almond butter like peanut butter but it’s made with almonds, and it’s very, very good. I thought possibly that the multigrain roll would be my least favorite of the items, but the almond butter and the quality of the imported strawberry preserves really won me over– the roll itself was very good as well.

The Chewy Fruit & Nut Bar kind of reminds me of a bird feeder block or one of those bird feeder things shaped like a bell or whatever. I’ve never actually eaten one of those, but I can tell you that I’ve tried the Chewy Fruit & Nut Bar and it is very good. Kind of like a nutritious, granola-type of fruit and nut bar thing. It was about the only item we did not sell completely out of yesterday. Although we did sell several, just not all of them– at least not by the time I left.

The oatmeal I really don’t care for as much. It’s good, but I really don’t like the mushy texture of instant oatmeal. I prefer the hearty body of the steal cut kind that you have to cook for a long time. However, if you like instant oatmeal, this is top of the line and you’ll probably like it. You can have it made with water, steamed milk [even Soy or organic] and if you are lactose intolerant and don’t want to do the water thing you can have it made with steamed apple juice– I might like to try that. Along with the cup of oatmeal you can also have a small package of brown sugar or nuts or dried fruit OR all three! OR multiples of all three. It doen’t change the price.

Oh, we also got in a new Pumpkin Loaf. It looks the same as the old Pumpkin Loaf except I think it’s supposed to be lower in fat– no trans fats, etc., etc., etc., and it’s got pumpkin seeds on the top. I thought the seeds were pistachios– they’re green 😮

AND… The Pumpkin Spice Latte is back! It’s a seasonal thing and it was like “the thing” yesterday at Starbucks!!! Just about everybody was coming in looking for it!

I worked primarily on the cafe register yesterday, and in that position it is also your responsibility to keep the coffee brewed. I dumped so much good coffee it was unbelievable– 30 minutes and you dump it and brew more. Keeps you busy! I feel good about working on the cafe register and really want to concentrate on that part of the learning curve and also the espresso bar and cold drink bar so that I will confidently know how to ring the drinks, mark the cups and prepare the drinks as well before hitting the drive thru again. I think that will help me a lot!

OK, so how many of you out there are thinking like me? I’m thinking I’ve got to have a pair of those “Sarah Palin” glasses and I’m wondering if I can get my hair to do that 🙂

Sari Beri and I stayed up last last night to see her speech and it was WONDERFUL! She did a great job– so much poise and confidence. I think she should be President and John McCain Vice President.

0 Responses to “9.4.08”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Patsy Burnette's Facebook profile
Help end world hunger

Psalm 19:1-3

"The heavens declare the glory of God; and the firmament sheweth his handywork...There is no speech nor language, where their voice is not heard."

Blog Stats

  • 94,918 hits

