11.14.08

We have some acquaintances that have a young daughter with cancer. They keep an online journal so that those of us who are praying for her can keep up to date on her progress. Both the mother and father are strong Christians and amazing writers. This is the latest post on Ashley’s blog:

Happy Friday! Yesterday’s chemo went very smoothly for Ashley. Zachary and Courtney were big helpers yesterday during treatment. Zachary held Ashley in his lap while she had chemo and Courtney read her a book. It is easy to forget that the older two are going through this battle with cancer too.

For grown ups it is hard enough, but with children they have so many questions that sometimes it is hard to find the right answers. What is the cure?, Why does she have cancer and I don’t? Why can’t they just take it out? and then it gets even tougher…Why does God let Ashley have cancer? If God knows she has cancer then why doesn’t he take it away? Is Ashley going to die? It’s not that they are questioning that it is God’s fault, it’s just that they have been taught that God hears us and takes care of us. Children are so thoughtful and sometimes when I question things, the children have the simplest answers.

Through the eyes of a child, cancer is foreign. They don’t understand the impact that cancer can have and I am so thankful that they don’t. Ashley has amazed me at her strength and ability to rise above her situation. To her, cancer is an inconvenience to her day. She often tells me that she can’t go to get her chemo until after recess or that she needs to finish her activity before she can be available for medicine. I like it that way and I hope that she continues to live each day without any focus on cancer, there is not time for it.

Please pray for her upcoming chemo treatment next Thursday the 20th. She will stay overnight for treatment and hydration. 5 more to go….

The Christian faith and courage that they have exhibited through this trial which began last spring has been a rebuke to me personally. Sometimes, when I think I don’t feel well, or things just might not be “going my way”… well… I just think of Ashley. I think of Ashley’s parents, her grandparents, her siblings. I have so much to be thankful for and so little, if anything, to complain about.

Thank you Lord Jesus!

1 Response to “11.14.08”


  1. 1 Rick Caskey November 15, 2008 at 4:23 pm

    Thanks for sharing this. I saw the name Ashley and it really hit home. My youngest daughter’s name is Ashley. As I read, I kept thinking what if this was my Ashley. I can’t describe the sick feeling I have in my stomach right now. Those questions have to weigh heavy on them. I know it’s sounds cliche, but we have to look at these things in light of who God is and His nature. The truths that He is a loving God and will take care of us are backed up by who He is. He has the best for all of us in His hands.


Leave a Reply

November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Patsy Burnette's Facebook profile
Help end world hunger

Psalm 19:1-3

"The heavens declare the glory of God; and the firmament sheweth his handywork...There is no speech nor language, where their voice is not heard."

Blog Stats

  • 97,076 hits

