12.22.08

So I’m on the floor at Starbucks this morning at the near height of the rush and my phone [in my pocket] is ringing– on vibrate. I feel it, but don’t look to see who it is– it’s RUSH hour. It rings again, still I don’t look– too busy. THEN, the store phone rings– I think nothing of it. The shift answers– I’m with a customer. The shift comes over to me, interrupts my conversation with a customer, and says I have an emergency phone call– my knees go weak and I feel like I might pass out. I know that Rachel is in KC and it’s very, very cold out there, Philip is who knows where doing who knows what, Thomas [the adventurer] is up to who knows what, and Sari Beri is on her way to a group violin lesson– maybe she’s been in an accident is the first thing that goes through my mind. I take the phone and walk away from the customer. I don’t even remember if I said anything to the customer or how I left them. On the phone is Thomas’ friend Jon who proceeded to tell me that he’s in the ER with Thomas and Thomas was having chest pain. I speak with Thomas on the phone and he seems to be in a great deal of pain. I tell him I’m on my way. I hang up, try to finish my transaction with whatever customers are there and tell the shift I need to leave and ask if she can call someone to replace me. We are busy but there are several partners on the floor and she says to just go. I head to the ER and find Thomas seeming still to be in some pain but not as bad as it was. Soon they take us back. They’ve already done an EKG and ruled out any kind of heart problem. After some test [blood work and chest x-rays] they determine that he has had a spontaneous pneumothorax — collapsed lung. Not sure what caused it but it is evidently not uncommon for tall, thin guys of his age. WHEW! What a scare! He’s home now and has to take it easy for a couple of days– no lifting, etc., etc., etc…. right! We will go back on Wednesday morning to the ER for another chest x-ray to see if it is healing itself or getting worse. Hopefully, healing itself! If not, some evasive action may have to take place 😮

Funny thing:

  1. The lady doing the chest x-ray was humored because she said his lungs were so LONG she couldn’t get a picture of the whole lung in one shot– took two.
  2. While he was out of the room for the chest x-ray the nurse asked if I was his girlfriend! HA HA HA HA HA HA!!! THAT WAS funny!

Read the following post for a description of spontaneous pneumothorax.

AND, thank you for your prayers! I know at least one friend that came by the store this morning after I’d left and they told her that I had a child in the ER. I know she was praying. We’d appreciate all who would pray over the next couple of days that this heals on it’s own, that no further action needs to be taken and that it doesn’t happen again.

I’ll keep you posted…

2 Responses to “12.22.08”


  1. 1 Michelle December 25, 2008 at 1:31 pm

    Patsy,

    We’re in D.C., or I’d come over to bring you good cheer. I am praying. Hope Thomas will be ok. Hope all your activities this Christmas go ok, too.

  2. 2 Laura December 25, 2008 at 4:22 pm

    OH my, what a scare. I do hope he gets better soon!! Love you all very much!!!


Leave a Reply

December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Patsy Burnette's Facebook profile
Help end world hunger

Psalm 19:1-3

"The heavens declare the glory of God; and the firmament sheweth his handywork...There is no speech nor language, where their voice is not heard."

Blog Stats

  • 94,935 hits

