1.10.09

So, I’ve done it again… gone like a week without blogging [personal blogging that is]. Oh, I’ve updated the blog with this that and the other, but nothing about how life is going. I know a lot of you like to read “how life is going” stuff, but I’m really not sure why.

Anywho… here we go.

The BIGGIE this week: I lost one of my favorite earrings. I’ve lost this earring several times before… actually, I’m not sure it’s “this” same earring I’ve lost before– but it’s one of them anyhow. So, Wednesday night we’re heading in to church, it’s very, very windy, I just put on lip gloss, my hands are full, my hair is blowing around and of course, it sticks to my lips– did I say my hands were full? So, my bff reaches to get the hair that’s stuck to my lips and hits my earring. I comment on how it felt like he hit my earring but my hands were full– did I say that already? So, I couldn’t check the earring. By the time my hands were un-full I had forgotten about the earring :-/ Forgotten about it that is until we got home and I started taking off my jewelry. That’s when I noticed the missing earring 😦 Like I said, I’d lost the earring several times before and always found it. However, this seemed that it would be an impossible find. I really didn’t expect to find it. So on Thursday I go to work. When I get off in the afternoon and go to pick up Sari after practice at school I go to where I remember the incident happening and walk right up to the earring that is glistening in the afternoon sun! PRAISE THE LORD!!! It’s an itty bitty white gold diamond 1/3 carat stud. Not an easy find! But the Lord was very good to me, as he always is, and he allowed me to find it. I felt greedy as I continued to look in the same area over the next 30 minutes for the back that I never found. Backs are easy to replace.

starbucks1I thought I should read more this year and sort of committed to myself [I don’t really do “New Years Resolutions”] that I would try to read one new book every month. The book I started with is “How Starbucks Saved My Life” by Michael Gates Gill. I finished it in about 2 days. Maybe I should try to read one new book every week? It was difficult to put the book down. Very inspiring and made me feel even better about my job as a Barista at Starbucks.

“Michael Gates Gill was an Ivy League graduate and a successful ad agency executive with a six-figure salary. But downsizing, divorce and health problems sent his life spiraling downwards — until he happened upon a coffee shop that was hiring.” –CBS News

I would recommend the book although it’s hardly what I expected it to be and I’d have to warn you– there is some language I don’t aprove of. The book mostly is about diversity, both in the realm of color and financial status. An interesting read.

reesechronological_lgSpeaking of reading… This week I ordered the Reese Chronological Bible [KJV version of course] and it came today. I AM SO EXCITED ABOUT THIS! I had already decided to read through the Bible this year chronologically and this will be a great help. I’ve been reading it online up until this point, but I really like the idea of a physical book that I can hilight and make notes in. The book I ordered was used and has much highlighting already– this will make things interesting, to see what someone else found worthy of highlighting. AND, I have already found it SO interesing to see how some things happend it the order that they happened in.

414jszbt5wl

My next book: “Pour Your Heart Into It” by Howard Schultz, chairman and CEO of Starbucks Coffee Company.

0 Responses to “1.10.09”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Patsy Burnette's Facebook profile
Help end world hunger

Psalm 19:1-3

"The heavens declare the glory of God; and the firmament sheweth his handywork...There is no speech nor language, where their voice is not heard."

Blog Stats

  • 95,671 hits

