Coffee Master

To help me prepare for getting my Coffee Master I created this kind of cheat chart thing– just something to help me study, kind of like you would in college.

photo

It has 35 of the Starbucks coffees we sell. Our little store certainly does not sell anywhere near all of these and some are seasonal anyhow, but I did want to be as familiar as I could be with all the coffees, so I’ve included them all. It also includes a dozen or so Tazo Teas, but I’m mostly at this point concerned with the coffees.

Each laminated, business-size card includes a picture of the coffee stamp, the name of the coffee [of course], whether it’s Mild, Medium, Bold or Extra Bold, it’s origin, key term, and a brief description on the front. On the back is the food pairing and any other helpful information I could find, like the fact that Caffe Verona is actually 80% Yukon Blend and 20% Italian Roast.

They are all nicely arranged in alphabetical order on a ring and I can keep it tucked away in the pocket of my green apron. If a customer has a question about a particular type of coffee that I don’t know the answer to, I can whip it out and have all this knowledge at my fingertips — KNOWLEDGEABLE!

I showed our district manager last week and he asked that I make him one to show to the regional manager. He was impressed.

I figure the whole thing cost me about $20 to put together. Kind of expensive but priceless to me– it’s such a help. I really wish Starbucks could put something like this in the hands of every barista– especially in little stores like mine where there is no Coffee Master.

5 Responses to “Coffee Master”


  1. 1 72ndSbuxman January 30, 2009 at 5:42 am

    Dang! That is nice…I’m curious as to how you did it as I am going for my coffee master as well and this looks very handy. With how nice that looks if you could make another I would be more than willing to buy that off you. Maybe paypal or something? E-mail me at jjlsheela05@gmail.com. Thanks so much!
    Or comment back on here.

  2. 2 Laura January 31, 2009 at 8:09 pm

    I think that Starbucks will definately see this handy dandy invention and incorporate it into their training. Bravo!!!

  3. 3 newfroot April 13, 2009 at 4:08 pm

    Fair doos to you! I’m Starbucking in Wales (UK) and think that’s a great idea. I’m doing my coffee master soon! Looking forward to it!

  4. 4 gary February 3, 2010 at 6:38 pm

    hey, is it possible to get the word / excel whatever file? would be cool to print and build some for my partners, im our store coffee master and im looking for stuff and ideas. thanks alot. greetz from switzerland.

  5. 5 coffeequeen February 18, 2010 at 12:07 pm

    I, too, would be interested in your file! You put some serious thought and work into this! Please let me know if it is available to beg, borrow or purchase! 🙂


Leave a Reply

January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Patsy Burnette's Facebook profile
Help end world hunger

Psalm 19:1-3

"The heavens declare the glory of God; and the firmament sheweth his handywork...There is no speech nor language, where their voice is not heard."

Blog Stats

  • 94,935 hits

