6.8.09

momToday was a day filled with mixed emotions, mostly bad. First, I took my mother to her second of eight chemo treatments. She’s lost most of her hair now — 80% she says, although I haven’t actually seen it. This happened mainly over the weekend. A designer friend of hers [bless her heart] gave momma an array of turbans in almost every color imaginable. She’s still as beautiful as ever and has a wonderful, positive outlook as you can see by the smile on her face. This time they gave her more meds for the nausea, some via pill form before her treatment, some via IV and a prescription she will begin taking round the clock tonight. Hopefully the nausea will not be a problem this round as it was last. She will need prayer mostly on Wednesday – Friday as those will most likely be her worst days. — especially on Wednesday as she will be traveling to Ellijay.

While I was waiting with her at the chemo center I got a call that my brother-in-law, Richard, who has been battling cancer for some time now lost the fight. He went home to be with the Lord this morning. We are very saddened by this but at the same time we know he’s in a better place with no more pain. I pray for Sally as she deals with this. It’s a lot to deal with I would imagine. She has been a good nurse to him and I can only think that God brought them together for this very purpose.

On a brighter note, today was the opening of the ’09 WWDC [World Wide Developers Conference], Apple’s debut of all the things they’ve been working on for the past 12 months or so. What’s new? MacBook Pros with the best pricing every– even a 13″, new 3.0 OS for the iPhone will be available a week from Wednesday [June 17] and the newest, fastest iPhone will be available a week from Friday [June 19]. The new iPhone will have a 3.2 megapixel camera with auto focus, video, better battery life, copy and paste and search across apps and more. A 32GB model will be available for 299. It’s called the iPhone 3Gs. The “s” is for speed.

Tomorrow I work a late shift at Lovejoy and then my regular morning shift on Wednesday, Thursday and Friday at my store. That may change depending on when Richard’s funeral is.

Sari Beri and I will go for breakfast in the a.m. [she has volleyball camp all week], then I may go in and work on some Coffee Master stuff. I’ve already started working on putting together my coffee seminar and I’m getting excited about it– trying to play up my strengths and forget about my weaknesses. Standing up in front of people and talking is NOT one of my strong points. I’ll need some diversions– a PowerPoint, video presentation or some sort of props. The theme is going to be “How’d that get in my cup?” a play on the Food Network program, “How’d that get on my plate?” We will explore 2 Latin American coffees — Guatemala and Organic Shade Grown Mexico. There will be food pairings and door prizes. I’m planning the event for a Saturday morning at 10:00 but don’t have a defendant date yet. These are tentative plans and all may change you understand.

0 Responses to “6.8.09”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

June 2009
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Patsy Burnette's Facebook profile
Help end world hunger

Psalm 19:1-3

"The heavens declare the glory of God; and the firmament sheweth his handywork...There is no speech nor language, where their voice is not heard."

Blog Stats

  • 97,374 hits

