6.13.09

IMG_0295

The processional for Sgt. John Beale Thursday evening was an amazing experience. From Peachtree City to Stockbridge folks lined the streets with American flags, posters, balloons and the like to pay tribute to a fallen hero they didn’t even know. Mostly, I think we were paying tribute to ALL our service men and women, fallen or not. In part we were also paying tribute to our country. I felt a spirit of patriotism that I haven’t felt since 9/11.

We stood near the corner of Highways 19/41 and McDonough Road in Lovejoy. The Clayton County Fire Department had two ladder trucks there with their ladders extended high into the air and crossed over McDonough Road. An American Flag hung between the two ladders.

The processional was led by what was probably 100+ motorcycles and something I was totally unprepared for– two helicopters flying in the missing man formation.IMG_0297

It was an experience I will never forget! I have caught myself humming “… And I’m proud to be an American where at least I know I’m free. And I won’t forget the men who died who gave that right to me…” on several occasions over the past few days :/

We purchased an American flag just before the processional and now it hangs outside our home. I’ve wanted a flag for the front of our home for 27+ years. Finally, we have one 🙂

My mom has really done great with this round of treatments. PRAISE THE LORD!

We will leave tomorrow morning for a week of vacation in Ellijay with the family. I’m looking forward to it and really need to get to pack but can’t get motivated. Part of the problem is that we don’t yet know what car we’ll be taking and that makes all the difference in how we pack. We’ll either be packing very, very, very lite or taking everything and the kitchen sink. Guess we’d better figure all that out real soon 🙂

I’m done with part five of the Coffee Master program and am on to the last part, part six– the certification. I just opened part six yesterday and it’s not quite as daunting as I thought. I basically have to do two things: 1. Hold a “Coffee Seminar” and 2. Sit down with the district manager for a coffee tasting and let him review my parts 1-5 to be sure I actually accomplished everything I was supposed to [no problem there] and then he’ll ask me a bunch of questions and stuff – but it’s almost like an open book test– all the questions are listed in the part six booklet so it shouldn’t be that big of a deal. I’m not as nervous now as I was before I read over the part six booklet. I should be able to complete this within the next few weeks 🙂

IMG_0298Beautiful Hydrangeas in our yard 🙂

I think these were just a couple of small potted plants a few years ago. Now they’ve matured into large flowering purple Hydrangeas and I’m so glad they are purple because that’s Sari Beri’s favorite color 🙂

I’m thankful for the little blessings in life!

0 Responses to “6.13.09”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

June 2009
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Patsy Burnette's Facebook profile
Help end world hunger

Psalm 19:1-3

"The heavens declare the glory of God; and the firmament sheweth his handywork...There is no speech nor language, where their voice is not heard."

Blog Stats

  • 95,725 hits

