42-day Challenge: French Roast

fre_aDate: 9/15/09

Notes: You really don’t expect this smoky goodness from a Latin American coffee. I’m getting the aroma of a very ripe piece of cheese and some mushrooms. Really tasting this coffee on the very tip of my tongue. I remember when I did my very first tasting with French Roast, Starbucks’ darkest roast, about a year ago and I hated it! My palate was not trained to distinguish the sometimes not so subtle differences in coffees as it is now– just a side note. The shot is almost bitter, but a good kind of bitter– almost a tartness. I am really not picking up on as much “smokiness” as I expected from this coffee.

2 Responses to “42-day Challenge: French Roast”


  1. 1 Meghan November 17, 2009 at 10:04 pm

    Found your blog in an attempt at a google search to see if I could get a sneak preview of the new holiday drink being released this month; but it seems they are keeping it well hidden or I am not doing a thorough enough search. Either way, the search led me to another hidden gem, being your blog.

    I find you 42 Day Challenge to be a great idea. I haven’t yet purchased a coffee maker being that I’m a college student and on a fairly low budget. So I’ve managed to survive off of instant coffee for the time being. Until then, I was wondering if I could get your impute on what you find to be a better choice for brewing coffee. The Drip or Press coffee maker? I love my coffee to be strong and want something that will bring out plenty of the beans aroma and flavors. What do you find to be the pro’s and con’s of either choice?

  2. 2 starbucksgirl November 17, 2009 at 10:13 pm

    Hi Meghan! My suggestion would be a French press for the best cup of coffee you can make and they’re good on a budget too 🙂


Leave a Reply

September 2009
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Patsy Burnette's Facebook profile
Help end world hunger

Psalm 19:1-3

"The heavens declare the glory of God; and the firmament sheweth his handywork...There is no speech nor language, where their voice is not heard."

Blog Stats

  • 95,723 hits

