Archive for September 30th, 2006

9.30.06

Well, on a whim (and I’ve never done this before – pay full price to run) I ran the Buckhead Sizzler 10K this a.m. It is advertised as Atlanta’s FASTEST 10K and you are supposed to be able to put down a really FAST qualifying time for the Peachtree next summer. I’m sure somebody did. I was hoping to finish in under 50 minutes (my best time for a 10K thus far has been 52 minutes) but it wasn’t to be. 55:38 was my time. I’m not sure why I just keep getting slower and slower it seems. I did run the whole race – no walk break – which is a first for me in a 10K. That was good progress.

It was the last race for my old worn out running shoes. They are “officially” retired as of 10.1.06. I ran a mile in my new shoes when I got home and they felt good – different, but good. I think I’ll go ahead and purchase some cushy insoles – the shoes are a little hard inside. That will also cut down on the immediate wear inside as well – probably a good idea.

I’ll rest this week – just the normal easy 3-mile daily runs. Maybe squeeze a longer one in on Thursday and a couple of laps around the rock on Saturday.

OH, I should tell you about my tour of Atlanta on the Marta train after the race. I’m not too familiar with Marta L You see, the race started at the Chamblee station and ended in Buckhead. There were shuttles that would take you to the Lenox station and you could catch the train back to the Chamblee station. Well, the shuttles didn’t start until 9:00 a.m. (they want you to stick around for the awards, etc.) I knew I wasn’t going to be getting any awards and just wanted to get on back home so…. (drum roll please) I started walking. I had read that you could just walk to the Lenox station if you preferred. Well, I entered the first station I came to and bought my rail pass (it was all the $$ I had on me – no cell phone, nothing) thinking it was the Lenox station. So I sit there waiting for the train, waiting, waiting… and I get on the wrong one. I end up riding to the next station, having to get off, get on a southbound train back to the Linberg station (you see, I was actually at the BUCKHEAD station to being with – NOT the Lenox station) transferring to the RIGHT northbound train and then finally, 3 stops later, there I was – back at the Chamblee station.

I won’t plan on running this race again – just too complicated!


September 2006
S M T W T F S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
Patsy Burnette's Facebook profile
Help end world hunger

Psalm 19:1-3

"The heavens declare the glory of God; and the firmament sheweth his handywork...There is no speech nor language, where their voice is not heard."

Blog Stats

  • 114,899 hits